top of page
  • Writer's pictureSouth Gwinnett Myriad

Women’s History Short - Story

Amari Rudison

2 April 2021



“Sit down, Anne May.” Her grandmother, Kila announced as she noticed the bouncing child all over the living room. Anne May squeals as she realizes her grandmother caught her from inside the living room. Anne May squats on the couch and sits down as her grandmother requested.


Kila came out of the kitchen and sat next to Anne May with snacks of apples and peanut butter in her lap. “Hungry?” Was all Kila said as her granddaughter frantically nodded and placed a napkin on her lap and began chewing away at the delicious snack. “Can we watch Red Racer?” She pleaded and her grandmother thought of another idea. “How about I tell you a story about all the women in our family including your mommy?” Anne May pondered on the thought and then nodded her head frantically.


She only got told stories during bedtime and thought this would be nice and different.


"It starts back in the early 1900's long before you were born." Anne May gasps at this and stares wide-eyed at Grandmother Kila. "My mother Jane Mitchell, your great-grandmother, had just moved to the South and was ready to start her new career at the Journal Exposition. Which was a very famous newsletter at the time. She was so excited she could barely wait and got there early just to watch everything unfold."




"Goodmorning, Ms? How may we help you?" I turned to the lady at the front desk and smiled at her. "It's my first day here and I was wondering if I could watch. I am a bit early to start working." The lady smiled back at me and I looked at her name tag. "Harley." Her face didn't match her name with eyes as big as boulders and she was shorter than mines. I would have to remember that. She clicks a few buttons on her typewriter and turns to me. "Are you Ms. Mitchell?" She asks and I nod.


"Yes ma'am, Jane Kila Mitchell at your service." Harley nods and continues to type. I adjust my purse and look down at my heels. I usually didn't get nervous, but I was feeling a little flustered. Maybe I was too excited? They didn't seem to like the peppy spirit I had today?


"Right this way, Jane Mitchell. Boss, is waiting." Of Course I would see the boss today. I followed Harley and smoothed out my skirt. It wasn't wrinkling, but you can't be too careful!


"Boss, Ms. Jane is here." I slowly walked in and Harley closed the door behind. Boss as Harley called him, was already staring at me. He was standing at a large height which really scared me he seemed to be at least 6'8. His hair was in a buzz cut like he just got out of the army and his eyes were fierce, the green color burning through brightly.


"Welcome, Ms.Mitchell. I am Tyler Francis. Your new boss." I could tell he wasn't polite with everyone and only smiled when needed because that smile looked as if he glued it on this morning after it broke. I laughed in my head at my unruly joke, I turned to the Boss and nodded back.


"Thank you for hiring me. I'm really excited to work." He smiled back at me and I shifted in my seat. He was too handsome for me. I couldn't land a guy like him if I tried. "So, let's get you settled shall we?" I nodded in agreement. I was ready to put my talents to great use. Everyone here would love my writing and enjoy it. I couldn't wait to showcase it to everyone. My mother often told me I had a knack with words and I believed her. I put my faith and trust into her words and carried them with me wherever I went.


I miss her to this day. She was the only person I worked hard for. Everything I did, I did for her.


"Your office is right beside mine and the COO is right here in front of me. His name is Larry. But, you don't need to worry about him. I handle all the work." I smile and reply with a small yes.


"So, here's a list of everything I need to schedule and here is what you'll keep track of." I was confused. He handed me a planner and a pamphlet full of his writings and dates of scheduling. "Why would I need this? Don't I need a typewriter or something?" Tyler or should I call him Boss? I had no idea. We just met so we're not on a first name basis yet, but it was weird calling him Boss instead of Sir. Boss sounded like we're on a mission somewhere.


"Why would you need a typewriter?" He questions me back and I'm a little confused. I was going to be writing Why else would I need a typewriter? "I'm going to be writing for the Newsletter shouldn't I get a typewriter?" I question him yet again and instead of him questioning me back he turns and laughs while holding onto the desk as his tall self leans over. What was funny? I usually keep my jokes in my head.


"You're not on the newsletter. You're going to be my personal assistant. You are hilarious, why didn't you tell me about your love of comedy?" Okay now I was mad. ASSISTANT! Did I look like I wanted to be his assistant? My assistant days are over and they were over once I got on the plane to move here! I'm not going to be someone's assistant!


I huff and he turns to me. "There seems to be a mistake, but I must leave." I put everything he gave me down and adjusted my purse pulling it to my shoulder. He walks beside me trying to turn me around and get my attention. “Where are you going?” I huffed out and turned back to him. “I need to leave, applied to be a writer not an assistant. I am going to apply elsewhere and see if they will hire a female employee with experience.” I knew once he said I was going to be an assistant he was trying to cheat me, but I knew better I played the game already and just because I was a female meant that I wasn’t going to be respected. I had already done my research on a couple of other Journalism Expositions that hired well respected women and was going to be one of them.


He smiled at me and rubbed his neck, “Fine, I’ll level with you.” He turned me around and guided me to the back of his office where we once were when I first stood up and he sat me back down as he headed towards his seat. “I’ll give you a job as a regular writer, but you pieces won’t be on any newsletters they will have to be changed to a male’s name.” I frowned immediately. My name won’t be on any of my work!? Then what was the point of my work being there? I had no reason to write here if my work wouldn’t be admired by others. I scoffed yet again at his proposition and finally yet again stood up with my purse and turned around. This time he didn’t bother to stop me and I was glad. He had no right to try and stop me from that outrageous “proposition” like crap I would go through with that. I close the door and walk right out of their office.


I was angry with myself for thinking that the interview was real. Only a certain amount of women were able to get jobs like that and it made me mad at how I was recognized for my talent and yet they only wanted to offer “assistant jobs”. Mother wouldn’t want me to have my head down, I look up at the sky as if she is smiling down upon me. I smile at that and continue my walk to my small apartment.



“Why didn’t they hire her grandma.” Anne May frowned as she stopped her grandmother from the story. Grandmother Kila smiled as she was happy to know that her granddaughter was interested in their women’s history. She would grow to be a well respected woman in whatever she wanted to accomplish when she was older. Her grandmother was sure of it. “They didn’t hire her sweetheart because their boss only wanted male names on the cover of their newsletter. It was difficult to be recognized as a female in the working days.” Anne May’s gaze was sad and she pondered on if her great-grandmother hated that and struggled to maintain a healthy life without a job.


Grandmother Kila raised an eyebrow at Anne May’s sad look and she continued with the story to give the poor girl some closure.


It didn’t take long for Jane to find another job. She wasn’t going to allow for one man to say no to her; she wasn’t going to stop until she got a job and became a successful woman. Anne May perked up and smiled widely at her grandmother as she continued.



“Welcome back, Ms.Mitchell.” Harley smiles. “Wait, Grandma!” Anne May interrupted the story. “Why is she back there?” Grandma Kila smiles at her once again and pats her head. “Her boss called her back, just listen.” Anne May frowned but kept quiet. “You called me back?” Jane frowned at Harley. Harley smiles softly, her eyes looking as if they were about to close. “Mr. Francis called me yesterday and said to call you back.” Jane nodded, but looked wary. She wanted to make sure nothing was auspicious. They promised her in the newsletter about her headings where she would get recognition, but then she was lied to.


“Mr. Francis. Goodmorning.” Harley said and Jane stood up frowning, her arms crossed. Jane did not want to be here she had other options, but with the way Harley’s voice sounded she had to see what Francis was going to say. “I’m glad you're here, I would like to talk to you.” Jane nodded and followed Francis to his office yet again.


If his offer didn’t change to something she would like she wasn’t going to come back again.


“I asked you here today to give you what we offered.” Jane nodded and sat down. The original offer was for her to publish what she writes in her name and get credit with it as well. But, now she wanted commission as well. At least 15%.


“I want to be commissioned at least 15%.” Francis looked shocked, but understood why she was asking for more money. “10%.” He said and she smiled and Jane laughed and shook his hand.


“I’m happy to be working with you.” Jane smiled. “You too, you start Thursday at 6am sharp.” Jane nodded and walked out. Harley smiled outside the door. She was eavesdropping. Jane laughed and walked to the bus stop.



“What happened after that Grandma?” Anne May asked, realizing her grandma stopped talking. Grandma Kila looked at Anne May and smiled before grabbing her hand and taking her to her room. It was already 7 and it was time for Anne to sleep before her mother would come to get her.


“I’ll tell you more if you head to bed.” Grandma Kila said and that made Anne May excited. She jumped up and bounced in the bed. She tucked herself in and waved for her grandmother to come and tuck her in. “Goodnight Grandma.” Anne May said with a huge smile. “Goodnight Annie May.” And Grandmother Kila kissed her forehead and walked out the door.


Until tomorrow.




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Pep Rally at SGHS

South Gwinnett High School is proud to announce we are hosting a pep rally for all students Monday, March 22nd, 2021 beginning 6pm in the football stadium. The student council is hoping to “celebrate

Black History month chorus presentation

Thank you to Mr. Robinson and your students for having put together an amazing variety special in honor of Black History month. Click the link to watch. Black History Month Chorus Presentation

bottom of page